I know what you’re thinking: Canada isn’t a part of Michigan. However, that doesn’t mean the two don’t influence each other. In fact, going to the U.P. feels like a trip to Canada. As a traveling addict, I love exploring other countries, therefore, while I was in Detroit, I just had to go see Canada.

Before I share my visit to Canada, we need to have a heart to heart.

First, I need to confess that I was only in Canada for about half a day.

To my misfortune, I spent 90% of that time trapped in a restaurant that took hours to serve a mediocre, overly-priced meal.

So what gives me the right to blog about Windsor, Ontario?

Traveling to different places and experiencing different cultures is incredibly important for expanding your knowledge – I can’t possibly stress this enough. I feel that it is my responsibility to encourage you to travel as much as you possibly can. So no, I am not even close to being an expert on Windsor, Ontario, however, I want you to go anyways.

img_4724

What I can actually tell you

 If you’re entering Canada from Detroit, you have two options. You can travel under or over the Detroit River. I took the tunnel on the way there and the bridge on the way back. I would highly suggest doing the same because they’re both unique experiences for traveling abroad.

Once you’re there

Stick to Ouellette Road, this is where you can find most of the restaurants, parking garages, and tourist shops. This road also leads you straight to the river, and if you’re a photography nerd like I am, you’ll want to get some pictures of the skyline of Detroit.

I’m not going to name the restaurant that I ate at because, even though it took forever to get my food on a fairly slow night, I’ve worked in the restaurant business and I understand that we all have our “off” nights. The customer service was wonderful and they even offered me free dessert for waiting such a long time. However, I will still show you some pictures of my food.  

Don’t forget the river

 Photo enthusiasts, this is for you. Viewing Detroit from across the river is absolutely breathtaking and a must for any visitor. It’s easily Michigan’s version of New York City and the lights at night look like they’re meant for a movie.

I’ve come up empty handed

That’s it. That’s all I’ve got on Windsor, Ontario. Think of my lack of knowledge as my way of leaving Windsor a mysterious journey for you.

 

 

